The Official Website of the Louisiana Department of Revenue
BATON ROUGE – School supplies, school uniforms, tuition and educational equipment may be eligible for a series of state tax breaks known as the Louisiana School Tuition & Expense Deductions. These income tax deductions are available to families with students in public, private and parochial schools, as well as students who are home-schooled. Deductions for purchases this year may be claimed on 2012 Louisiana Individual Income Tax Returns due May 15, 2013. To claim the deductions, you must be able to claim the student as a dependent on your state individual income tax return, and you must be able to document the expenses.
A tax deduction can reduce your taxable income, resulting possibly in a larger income tax refund.
Deduction for Elementary and Secondary School Tuition
This deduction applies to 100 percent of tuition and fees paid to a nonpublic elementary or secondary school, up to $5,000 per dependent. It applies also to the following expenses:
• Purchase of school uniforms required by schools for general day-to-day use• Purchase of textbooks, curricula, or other instructional materials required by schools• Purchase of school supplies required by schools
Deduction for Fees and Other Educational Expenses for a Quality Public Education
This deduction applies to 50 percent of the amount paid for eligible expenses, up to $5,000 per dependent. Eligible expenses include:
• Purchases of school uniforms required by the school for general day-to-day use• Purchases of textbooks, curricula, or other instructional materials required by the school• Purchases of school supplies required by the school
Deduction for Certain Educational Expenses for Home-schooled Children
This deduction applies to 50 percent of eligible expenses, up to $5,000 per dependent. Eligible expenses include textbooks and curricula necessary for home-schooling.
Visit www.revenue.louisiana.gov/schooldeduction for more information.
Developed and Maintained by Louisiana Department of Revenue