News Center

Home : Publications : Press Releases : News Center

May 17 is Deadline for Filing State Individual Income Tax

May 07, 1999

BATON ROUGE - Louisiana residents will have an extra two days to file their state individual income tax this year because the statutory deadline of May 15th falls on a Saturday. State law provides that if a tax deadline falls on either a holiday or a weekend, the deadline is automatically moved to the next business day.

Individuals are required to file a return if their gross income is $12,000 or more; or if their filing status is single or married filing separately with a tax table income of $4,500 or more; or if they are married filing jointly, or as head of household, or a qualifying widow or widower with a dependent child with a tax table income of $9,000 or more.

Taxpayers who need an extension of time in order to file should use Louisiana Department of Revenue Form R-6465, Application for Extension of Time to File Louisiana Individual Income Tax, Partnership, or Fiduciary Return. Louisiana also accepts any extension granted by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). The extension should be attached to the state return when it is filed.

An extension only extends the time to file, not the time to pay any tax that is due on May 17th. Failure to pay the tax in full by the filing deadline will result in the assessment of interest and a penalty.

Taxpayers may obtain tax forms, confirm that their Louisiana tax return has been received, and check the status of their refund by calling the 24-hour toll-free Taxpayer Refund Status Line at 1-888-829-3071. Filers in the Baton Rouge area can call the local number, 922-3270. Additional information may also be obtained from the Department’s web-site at www.rev.state.la.us.

Assistance may also be obtained by contacting any one of the following regional offices of the Department: Alexandria (318) 487-5333; Baton Rouge (225) 925-4611; Lafayette (318) 262-5455; Lake Charles (318) 491-2504; Monroe (318) 362-3151; New Orleans (504) 568-5233; Shreveport (318) 676-7505; and Thibodaux (447-0976).