The Official Website of the Louisiana Department of Revenue
BATON ROUGE — After gradually being reduced since 1998, inheritance tax rates will no longer apply for most deaths occurring after June 30, 2004, says Revenue Secretary Cynthia Bridges.
“I am pleased to remind taxpayers that inheritance tax rates will not apply if a judgment of possession is rendered, or if a succession is judicially opened no later than the last day of the ninth month following the death of a decedent,” Bridges says. She points out that Act 818 of the 1997 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature provided for the phase-out of inheritance tax rates over a six-year period.
“It is important for taxpayers to understand that the inheritance tax has not been eliminated,” Bridges says, “but rather the rates have been phased out for successions where a judgment of possession is rendered, or for a succession that is judicially opened by the last day of the ninth month after death of a decedent. Inheritance tax rates still apply in all cases not meeting those criteria.”
The phase-out of inheritance tax rates began July 1, 1998, and reduced the rates by 18 percent for deaths that occurred after June 30, 1998 and before July 1, 2001. The rates were reduced by 40 percent for deaths that occurred after June 30, 2001 and before July 1, 2002, 60 percent for deaths occurring after June 30, 2002 and before July 1, 2003, and by 80 percent for deaths occurring after June 30, 2003 and before July 1, 2004.
For information about the phase-out of inheritance tax rates, taxpayers may contact the Taxpayer Services Division of the Department of Revenue at (225) 219-0067, or any of the following offices of the Department: Alexandria, 201 Johnson Street, Suite 100, (318) 487-5333; Baton Rouge (Headquarters Office), 617 N. Third St, (225) 219-7318; Baton Rouge (Regional Office), 8549 United Plaza Blvd., Suite 200, (225) 922-2300; Lafayette, 825 Kaliste Saloom Road, Brandywine III, Suite 150, (337) 262-5455; Lake Charles, One Lakeshore Drive, Suite 1550, (337) 491-2504; Monroe, 122 St. John Street, Room 105, (318) 362-3151; New Orleans, 1555 Poydras Street, Suite 900, (504) 568-5233; Shreveport, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, (318) 676-7505; and Thibodaux, 1418 Tiger Drive, (985) 447-0976. ###
Developed and Maintained by Louisiana Department of Revenue