The Official Website of the Louisiana Department of Revenue
BATON ROUGE – Louisiana families can deduct part of the cost of their children’s education when they file their 2010 state income taxes. The Louisiana School Tuition & Expense Tax Deduction allows an exemption for 50 percent of the cost of eligible expenses, up to $5,000 per student.
The deduction applies to elementary and secondary school tuition, in addition to expenses for uniforms, textbooks, equipment, and supplies required by the school. It applies to some home schooling expenses, as well.
To claim the deduction, the taxpayer must claim the student as a dependent on their Louisiana Individual Income Tax Return.
Visit www.revenue.louisiana.gov/schooldeduction for more information.
Developed and Maintained by Louisiana Department of Revenue