Press Releases

2010 Louisiana Annual Sales Tax Holiday is August 6 & 7

Save back-to-school receipts for school expense tax deduction

July 26, 2010

BATON ROUGE - The 2010 Louisiana Annual Sales Tax Holiday takes place Friday, August 6, and Saturday, August 7. On these two days, most retail purchases are exempt from the four-percent state sales tax.

The sales tax holiday begins at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, August 6, and continues through 12:00 midnight on Saturday, August 7. By state law, the holiday takes place each year on the first consecutive Friday and Saturday in August.

The sales tax exemption applies to the first $2,500 of the purchase price of most individual items of tangible personal property for non-business use.

The exemption applies only to the four-percent state sales tax. It does not apply to sales taxes collected by parishes, towns, school boards, and other taxing authorities. All retailers are required to participate by offering the tax exemption at the time of sale.

Items NOT eligible for the tax exemption include vehicles subject to license and title, most meals, laundry services, and purchases of taxable services such as hotel occupancy and athletic admissions.

Retailers may take advantage of a $25 tax credit to offset the cost of reprogramming their cash registers. Information about the credit is available in the Revenue Information Bulletin No. 03-009.

For more information about the 2010 Louisiana Annual Sales Tax Holiday, visit www.revenue.louisiana.gov/taxholiday.

***

People shopping for back-to-school items are reminded to retain receipts as documentation for the Louisiana School Tuition and Expense Tax Deduction, which applies to 50 percent of eligible expenses, up to $5,000 per student. For more information about this tax deduction, visit www.revenue.louisiana.gov/schooldeduction.