News Releases

May 15 is Deadline for Filing State Individual Income Tax

Taxpayers urged to file electronically to receive faster refunds

May 8, 2000

BATON ROUGE - Department of Revenue Secretary Brett Crawford says the deadline for filing a state individual income tax return is Monday, May 15. He says the Department is urging taxpayers to file electronically or by TeleFile in order to receive their refund in the fastest possible time. "The traditional paper return can take up to six weeks to be received," Crawford states, "whereas a taxpayer filing electronically or by TeleFile will receive their refund in 6-8 days."

Crawford explains that electronic filing is accomplished through a paid professional like a Certified Public Accountant or other professional preparer. He says the TeleFile program allows a taxpayer to file their return using a touch-tone telephone in about nine minutes, but adds that taxpayers can TeleFile only if they were pre-qualified by the Department of Revenue and received a special TeleFile booklet and Personal Identification Number (PIN) in the mail.

On-Line filing is another option, Crawford says. Filing a return On-Line is done through a personal computer using Department-approved commercial software. Refunds from this method of filing also average 6-8 days.

All resident individuals who are required to file a federal individual income tax return must also file a state return, Crawford says. Any taxpayer that had Louisiana income, but is not required to file a federal income tax return, may (but is not required to) file a state return in order to claim a refund of withholdings. A taxpayer must also file a state return to obtain a refund or credit for an overpayment of taxes made through withholding or declaration of estimated tax. Military personnel whose home of record is Louisiana and who meet the filing requirements above must also file a state return, regardless of where they are stationed. Military personnel whose domicile is not Louisiana must report any nonmilitary Louisiana source income on Form IT-540B (Nonresident Individual Income Tax Return).

Taxpayers who need an extension of time in order to file a state return should use Louisiana Department of Revenue Form R-6465, Application for Extension of Time to File Louisiana Individual Income Tax, Partnership, or Fiduciary Return. Louisiana also accepts any extension granted by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). A copy of the extension should be attached to the state return when it is filed. An extension only extends the time to file, not the time to pay any tax that is due on May 15th. Failure to pay the tax in full by the filing deadline will result in the assessment of interest and a penalty.

Taxpayers may obtain tax forms, confirm that their Louisiana tax return has been received, and check the status of their refund by calling the 24-hour toll-free Taxpayer Refund Status Line at 1-888-829-3071. Forms may also be obtained from the Department’s web-site at

Assistance may also be obtained by contacting any one of the following regional offices of the Department: Alexandria (318) 487-5333; Baton Rouge (225) 925-4611; Lafayette (318) 262-5455; Lake Charles (318) 491-2504; Monroe (318) 362-3151; New Orleans (504) 568-5233; Shreveport (318) 676-7505; and Thibodaux (447-0976).

For media inquiries, contact:
Byron Henderson
Public Information Director