News Releases

Over $164,000 in Unclaimed Property Returned To Cities, Towns and Municipalities

Secretary Kennedy Says Over $150 Million in Lost Money Waiting To Be Claimed

March 4, 1999

BATON ROUGE - "Hidden Treasures" continue to be found at the Department of Revenue! Secretary of Revenue John Kennedy today announced that the Department''s Unclaimed Property Section has returned over $164,000 to various cities, towns, municipalities, and police juries across the state of Louisiana.

"After working with Mayor Marc Morial to return over $125,000 to the City of New Orleans last month, the Department of Revenue has worked closely with other governmental entities to determine what money is owed to them," says Secretary Kennedy. "We are more than happy to return to these local governments this money which became Unclaimed Property for reasons beyond their control."

The $164,000 amount represents several individual Unclaimed Property monies of both large and small amounts owed to the cities by businesses and other groups. For one reason or another, these monies were turned over to the Department of Revenue instead of being returned directly to the cities. "Obviously, it is better that this Unclaimed Property be given back to local governments rather than kept by the State so that the money may be used for essential services," says Secretary Kennedy.

Under Louisiana''s Unclaimed Property Law, the Louisiana Department of Revenue is responsible for finding owners of unclaimed intangible personal property turned over to the state. This unclaimed property may include payroll checks, checking and savings accounts, royalties, utility deposits, interest, dividends, stock certificates, and life insurance proceeds.

"It''s not just cities or big companies that have Unclaimed Property, it''s also average folks who may have as little as $50 or as much as $1,000 dollars waiting for them to claim," says Secretary Kennedy. "A few years ago, a lady in New Orleans found one million dollars in Unclaimed Property waiting for her."

To find out if you or somebody you know has a "Hidden Treasure" waiting at the Department of Revenue, contact the Unclaimed Property Section toll-free at 1-888-925-4127 or 225-925-7407 in Baton Rouge, Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Written inquiries can be sent to: Louisiana Department of Revenue, Unclaimed Property Section, P.O. Box 91010, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9010.

Secretary Kennedy also encourages people to search for their name on the Department''s World Wide Web page at on the Internet. Included on the web site is a Louisiana Unclaimed Property search engine as well as a downloadable Unclaimed Property claim form and links to other states'' Unclaimed Property search pages. Over 100,000 "treasure hunters" have searched for their name on the Internet since January 1999.

Secretary Kennedy says that the Department will continue its aggressive drive to return money to its rightful owners. "As Governor Foster told me when we first discovered this large Unclaimed Property account, ''It''s not our money...let''s give it back!''"

Complete List of Cities and Amount Refunded:

Acadia Parish Police Jury $4,009.08
Alexandria Police Department $5.00
Avoyelles Parish Sheriff & Tax Collector $11.00
Caldwell Parish Sheriff & Tax Collector $663.20
Cameron Parish School Board $754.53
Cameron Parish Sheriff''s Office $90.30
Cameron Water & Sewer District #1 $2,000.00
Catahoula Parish Sheriff''s Office $928.41
City Court of Eunice $194.00
City Court of New Iberia $138.00
City Court of Ruston $12.50
City Court of Slidell $75.00
City Court of Sulphur $345.00
City of Abbeville $492.00
City of Alexandria $13,196.45
City of Bastrop $990.00
City of Baton Rouge $24,567.91
City of Breaux Bridge $20,677.28
City of Bunkie $720.95
City of Carencro $900.00
City of Crowley $50.00
City of Denham Springs $40.00
City of DeRidder $981.70
City of Franklin $1,184.98
City of Gonzales $100.20
City of Greenwood $80.00
City of Gretna $1,475.98
City of Hammond $165.14
City of Hammond $50.40
City of Jeanerette $14.91
City of Jennings $372.00
City of Kaplan $1,380.81
City of Kaplan $150.00
City of Kenner $1,991.89
City of Lake Charles $150.00
City of Lake Charles $3,046.28
City of Leesville $760.00
City of Mandeville $5,946.78
City of Marksville $684.20
City of Minden $640.00
City of Morgan City $280.00
City of New Iberia $3,877.35
City of New Roads $3,180.30
City of Opelousas $2,854.00
City of Plaquemine $7,338.45
City of Ponchatoula $23.40
City of Port Allen $365.04
City of Ruston $290.00
City of Ruston Ambulance Fund $7.67
City of Shreveport $723.80
City of Sulphur $830.00
City of Thibodaux $80.00
City of Ville Platte $488.69
City of West Monroe $1,998.56
City of Westlake $491.86
City of Zwolle $52.00
Clerk of Court Bossier Parish $13.00
Clerk of Court Caddo Parish $317.00
Clerk of Court Cameron Parish $27.00
Clerk of Court St. Bernard Parish $90.00
Concordia Parish Sheriff''s Office $405.90
Jefferson Parish Council $23.00
Jefferson Parish Sheriff''s Office $15.00
Kenner Police Department $5.00
Lafayette Parish Sheriff''s Office $438.67
Livingston Parish Sheriff''s Office $47.70
Morgan City Police $541.49
Parish of St. Charles $1,304.88
Plaquemines Parish School Board $1,297.00
Red River Parish Sheriff''s Department $225.50
Saint James Parish $768.79
Sheriff & Tax Collector Caddo Parish $236.36
Sheriff & Tax Collector Calcasieu Parish $901.35
Sheriff & Tax Collector Jackson Parish $6,642.25
Sheriff & Tax Collector Plaquemines Parish $2,355.52
Sheriff & Tax Collector St. Charles Parish $1,393.52
Sheriff & Tax Collector St. James Parish $255.00
Sheriff & Tax Collector St. Tammany Parish $2,390.42
Sheriff & Tax Collector West Feliciana Parish $161.66
Sheriff & Tax Collector-Plaquemines Parish $2,355.52
St. Bernard Parish Sheriff''s Office $255.04
St. Helena Parish Sheriff Department $770.00
St. John Parish Utilities $69.50
St. Martin Parish Policy Jury $444.73
St. Martin Parish Sheriff''s Office $445.78
Tensas Parish Police Jury $23.18
Town of Arnaudville $64.00
Town of Basile $115.00
Town of Benton $3,277.39
Town of Boyce $160.00
Town of Broussard $220.00
Town of Campti $1,891.54
Town of Cotton Valley $80.00
Town of Coushatta $770.00
Town of Delcambre $430.00
Town of Dubach $324.04
Town of Elton $220.00
Town of Gibsland $310.00
Town of Grand Coteau $541.49
Town of Grand Isle $780.00
Town of Homer $1,153.25
Town of Jean Lafitte $150.00
Town of Jonesville $2,246.00
Town of Logansport $32.32
Town of Many Police Department $3.00
Town of Oberlin $501.30
Town of Pollock $157.56
Town of Rayville $2,938.17
Town of Richwood $43.94
Town of Ringgold $160.00
Town of Saint Joseph $108.00
Town of Sorrento $167.00
Town of Springfield $15.00
Town of St. Francisville $64.80
Town of Walker $80.00
Town of Washington $80.00
Town of White Castle $750.00
Town of Woodworth $80.00
Town of Zwolle $130.00
Vermilion Parish Police Jury $5,720.00
Vermilion Parish School Board $357.99
Village of Ashland $10.00
Village of Collinston $64.00
Village of Maurice $160.00
Village of Plaucheville $80.00
Village of Port Vincent $10.00
Village of Simpson $1,796.69
Village of Tickfaw $82.00
Webster Parish Police Jury $780.08
Webster Parish Sheriff''s Office $30.00
Winn Parish Sheriff''s Dept. $6.00

For media inquiries, contact:
Byron Henderson
Public Information Director