News Releases

Tax Relief for Victims of Tropical Storm Erin in Texas

October 12, 2007

Baton Rouge, LA— The Louisiana Department of Revenue will grant tax relief for Texas taxpayers in the Presidential Disaster Area that was struck by Tropical Storm Erin on August 14, 2007. The disaster area consists of Bexar, Harris, Jones, Kendall, Medina and Taylor counties.

The relief is available to individuals who live and businesses whose principal place of business is located in the covered disaster area and taxpayers not in the covered disaster area, but whose books, records, or tax professionals’ offices are in the covered disaster area.

Deadlines for affected taxpayers to file returns and pay taxes from August 14, 2007, through December 3, 2007, will be postponed until December 3, 2007, and delinquent penalties assessed during this period will be abated. In addition, delinquent penalties for employee withholding payments due August 14, 2007, through August 29, 2007, will be abated as long as the payments were made by August 29, 2007.

Affected taxpayers should indicate “Tropical Storm Erin” on their tax returns. If the taxpayer receives a delinquent notice from the Department of Revenue, the taxpayer should call the phone number listed on the notice to have the late filing or late payment penalties abated.

“It is imperative that taxpayers remember to write “Tropical Storm Erin” on top of their returns to ensure speedy and efficient processing,” says Cynthia Bridges, Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Revenue.
The Louisiana Department of Revenue’s mission is to administer the applicable tax laws of the state of Louisiana as well as regulations concerning alcohol, tobacco and charitable gaming.



For media inquiries, contact:
Byron Henderson
Public Information Director