News Releases

Louisiana Department of Revenue Extends Deadline for Filing and Paying Taxes to Hurricane Katrina Victims

September 19, 2005

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Tara G. Cunningham
September 19, 2005 (225) 219-0960

Louisiana Department of Revenue Extends Deadline for Filing and Paying Taxes to Hurricane Katrina Victims

BATON ROUGE- The Louisiana Department of Revenue, along with the IRS, has extended the deadline for all victims of Hurricane Katrina to file and pay certain tax returns until January 3, 2006.

The Louisiana Department of Revenue is granting an extension to January 3, 2006, to file and pay the following returns and declarations: individual and corporate estimates, withholding, partnership, individual income, and corporation income and franchise taxes. For individual income, partnership, and corporation income and franchise tax returns, a valid extension must be in place, if applicable, for the additional extension to apply. For estimated payments, and withholding tax, the extension applies to all returns that would be due August 30, 2005, through December 31, 2005. This release has been expanded to all 64 parishes.

In addition, the department has granted a 30-day extension of time to file or make payments for sales tax returns due September 20, 2005. A 60-day extension of time to file or make payments has been granted for other taxes that would otherwise be due August 30th through September 30th. The relief is granted to taxpayers in the following parishes: Acadia, Allen, Ascension, Assumption, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Caldwell, Calcasieu, Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, Desoto, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lafourche, LaSalle, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Orleans, Ouachita, Pointe Coupee, Plaquemines, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John, St. Landry, St. Mary, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Terrebonne, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Carroll, West Feliciana and Winn.

The Department will waive any late filing and late payment penalties that would otherwise apply. Taxpayers who reside outside of a disaster area but whose books, records or tax professionals are located in the relief area will also be assisted.

The Louisiana Department of Revenue assures the taxpayers of the State of Louisiana that we are working relentlessly to monitor the situation and be proactive in identifying and resolving other potential tax issues as they may arise.

For more information regarding disaster relief, visit our website at or contact your regional office: Alexandria Regional Office, (318) 487-5333; Baton Rouge Regional Office, (225) 922-2300; Lafayette Regional Office, (337) 262-5455; Lake Charles Regional Office, (318) 362-3151; Shreveport Regional Office, (318) 676-7505; and Thibodaux Regional Office, (985) 447-0976.

The Louisiana Department of Revenue’s mission is to administer the applicable tax laws of the state of Louisiana as well as regulations concerning alcohol, tobacco and charitable gaming.



For media inquiries, contact:
Byron Henderson
Public Information Director