Frequently Asked Questions
Anyone needing forms should call (225) 219-2113. It is helpful if you know the form number that you are requesting. Forms can also be picked up at our main office or any regional office. Many forms may also be downloaded from this Department's web page at our Tax Forms area.
Submit your return by the due date. By filing timely, you avoid delinquent filing penalty. Any amount paid with your return will reduce the interest and late payment penalty charges. The Department will bill you for any tax, interest, and penalties that are owed.
To check on the status of your refund, call 1-888-829-3071. If you are calling from Baton Rouge, call 922-3270. These numbers are available 24 hours a day.
I do not live in Louisiana. How do I obtain a refund for taxes withheld from gambling winnings in Louisiana?
You must file Form IT-540B, Nonresident and Part-year Resident Form. To receive a copy of the form, you may call (225) 219-2113 and request a booklet.
Returns are due by May 15th.
Do I need to request a state income tax extension if I am unable to file my return before the due date?
Yes. Revised Statute 47:103 allows a six-month extension of time to file the individual income tax return to be granted on request. The extension request must be made before the state tax filing due date, which is May 15th for calendar year filers and the 15th day of the 5th month after the close of the fiscal year.
In the past, taxpayers who were granted automatic federal extensions were allowed the same state income tax filing extension if a copy of the federal extension Form 4868 was attached to the front of their state tax return. Beginning with the 2008 income tax year filed in 2009, taxpayers will be required to either request a specific state individual income tax filing extension or submit a copy of their Federal Application for Automatic Extension of Time To File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return on or before the May 15th due date. Copies of federal extensions attached to the tax return and received after the May 15th due date will not be accepted.
This new requirement is the result of changing technologies and processing procedures that make the recording of federal extensions unreliable.
The extensions may be requested electronically via the LDR web site or by completing the Application for Extension of Time to File Louisiana Individual Income Tax, Form R-2868.
Please note that the extension does not allow an extension of time to pay the tax due. Payments received after the return due date (generally May 15) will be charged interest and late payment penalty. To avoid interest and penalty assessments, the estimated taxes due should be paid before the original due date.
To use the LDR Individual Return Web application, the taxpayer must have filed with the state of Louisiana the previous year. Otherwise, they can file a paper return or with a tax preparer electronically.
Taxpayers have 7 attempts to enter their SSN and previous filing information correctly. If you have failed 3 logon attempts, please call (225) 219-0102 to assure you are entering the address that matches the address on file with LDR.
Once a taxpayer attempts to enter information that does not match the information on file with LDR - 7 times, the LDR Individual Return Web application will lock the taxpayer out.
Taxpayers can register on-line using the LDR e-Services Website for LaTap
Usually it will take 3-4 days depending on type of transactions.
A taxpayer can click on “Forgot my Password” and after answering a security question(s), an E-mail will be sent to him with this information.
I feel my password information has been compromised and would like to change my password, could you help me.
If they require help, an LDR agent can reset the password. Please call (225) 219-0102 for assistance.
An LDR agent - (225)-219-0102 can reset the password.
The taxpayer can make online corrections.
A taxpayer can amend any return filed electronically online.
Taxpayers have to request a paper return.
Yes, you can amend returns that were filed manually if that return is listed.
Yes, You can file your return manually, however, if you are mandated to file Electronic payments you must contact LDR to arrange for Fed Wire or other alternatives to prevent penalty.
If I am having technical difficulties with the LDR Website, whom do I contact and how do I contact them?
If possible use the “Contact Us” function on the Website. If not call LDR for assistance.
Are there any restrictions on when I must file my return for it to be viewed as timely? Do I get a grace period?
No grace period is given for online filers. Returns must be filed online on the due date to prevent penalties or interest.
Due to computer problems my transactions did not go through making my return late. Can I request a Penalty Waiver On-Line?
No. A taxpayer can download a Penalty Waiver request form from our LDR Website. He must complete the form and mail it to the PO Box 201 Baton Rouge LA 70821 address.
If I file online and my transaction is showing “submitted” will I be charged P & I if it is not completed by the due date?
No. If the return is correct and the payment is made no other charges will be made. The date we will use as the mail date is the submitted date.
The bill was scheduled to go out before the payment was processed.
LaTAP can be discontinued online.
Addresses can be added or changed online using the edit feature.
If taxpayer provides enough information to assure that he has the authority to access the account then the LDR agent can give out this information.
All links are in blue letters and are underlined. Look on front page of Sales return in LaTap and you will see Schedule A.
Payments submitted for a particular filing period are not posted to the account until the associated return has been received and processed. Withholding payments are not posted to the account until 3 days after the due date of the return.
I registered to file in LaTAP and my authorization code was not e-mailed to me. The message said it would be mailed in 3 or 4 days.
If there are was a 0 payment submitted in registration, then the authorization would not be emailed.
In addition to these FAQs, there is a LaTAP demonstration video available to introduce LaTAP users to the basic functions available in LaTAP. View the demo at: LaTAP Demo
Yes, returns will continue to be mailed to you unless you request that they are stopped.
Every return, payment, or account change that you submit to the Department via LaTAP is referred to as a “request”. You use the “request” link to view a list of all requests waiting to be processed and all completed requests.
I'm having computer problems and can't use LaTAP, can I still file and pay my taxes with a paper form?
Yes, you can file your return on paper. However, if you are mandated to pay electronically, you must contact LDR to arrange for an EFT or other alternatives to prevent any penalties.
I had computer problems and my return ended up being filed late. Can I request a penalty waiver online?
No. You may download a Penalty Waiver request form (R-20128) from the LDR website. It must be completed and mailed to LDR at PO Box 201, Baton Rouge, LA 70821.
After logging into LaTAP, select the “my profile” link to open your LaTAP user profile. On this profile page, use the "Cancel My Online Access" button. If you change your mind later and decide that you want to access your accounts in LaTAP again, you will have to complete a new LaTAP registration and select a new login id.
Contact the Department of Revenue via email at Business Louisiana Taxpayer Access Point(LaTAP) Inquiries or call (225) 219-2203.
If possible, use the "Contact Us" link at the top of any LDR page or click this link to submit an email: Web Site Technical Questions, Comments, Or Suggestions.
When trying to register in LaWage, after clicking on "Register Now", it keeps returning to the Online Options page.
A possible issue is that SPAM/PopUp Blockers and Browser Cookie Settings are interfering with LaWage and Severance applications. To resolve the issue you should do the following:
- In IE browser under "Internet Options" select the "Privacy" tab, then select "Advanced Privacy Settings". Within the Cookies frame, you must select "Override automatic cookie handling" in order to set the "Prompt" option under both the First-party Cookies and the Third-party Cookies.
Ensure you have the newest version of the program:
- Uninstall the current version of the application
- Go to https://webtax2.rev.louisiana.gov/LaWage2/, provide your information and click the "Download Program" button
- Install the application from the downloaded file
Businesses may also request a copy by completing a Tax Information Disclosure Authorization, Form R-7004. This form authorizes the one-time release of information to yourself or the appointee you list on the form. Instructions for the form can be found here.
Act 130 of the 2015 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature amended Revised Statute 47:1507 to provide for fees for searching for tax returns and other documents, authenticating records, and certifying copies of tax returns and other documents (see Louisiana Administrative Code 61:III.1701). As of July 17, 2015, the fees are as follows:
- $15.00 for a copy of any tax return or other document previously filed by the taxpayer, or authorized representative, for each year or tax period requested, regardless of whether the requested return or document is located.
- $25.00 for each certified copy of a return or other document requested.
All fees must be paid when you submit the Tax Information Disclosure Authorization, Form R-7004 by check or money order, made payable to the Department of Revenue. Cash cannot be accepted.
If I change my Federal ID number, is there anything I need to do with the Louisiana Department of Revenue
Yes, if the federal ID number changes your account with the Louisiana Department of Revenue should be closed and a new account should be opened with the new Federal ID number.
top of page